verystillnorthteaches

Middle School Teacher in Rural Alaska

Pre-Newberry Challenge

on December 28, 2011

This fall I found a poster in our school that showed the covers of all the Newberry award winning books from 1922-2011. I laminated it and hung it on my classroom door. Students and I each initialed the books that we had read. Many of my students said, “Wow, I’ve read a bunch of these books!” But as I sat there and looked at the poster I felt pathetic. These are some of the best children’s books in existence and I’ve read so few of them.

Here is my list of the Newberry Award Winning Books that I have read in my lifetime:

Johnny Tremain

The Twenty-One Balloons

King of the Wind

Amos Fortune, Free Man

The Witch of Blackbird Pond

Island of the Blue Dolphins

A Wrinkle In Time

From The Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler

Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH

Julie of the Wolves

Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry

Bridge to Terabithia

Jacob Have I Loved

Sarah Plain and Tall

The Whipping Boy

Number the Stars

Maniac Magee

Shiloh

The Giver

Out of the Dust

Holes

The Tale of Despereaux

When You Reach Me

Moon Over Manifest

 

A grand whopping total of 24 books.  Not much when compared to the 89 Newberry award winning books that are out there. Yet, some of my absolute favorite favorite books from when I was a kid are on this list. I’m hoping that as I undertake the Newberry Challenge this year I will discover many more favorites.

Leave a Reply

